2022 Wrap Up: An average journey

Introduction

Hey! This is Rakesh, currently enrolled in B.tech CSE program. At the end of 2021, I was in college and, for my technical skills until then I have only basic python and Microsoft Office Proficiency. I was getting started with C language in college.

A Good Start

Looking back on the 2022 start, I think I upskilled pretty well at the start while learning C, I also started to explore libraries of python, and registered on HackerRank and HackerEarth. By the mid of February had three stars for C language. Started learning C++ from a Udmey course by Abdul Bari. Socially I was never so active in my school days, but in college, I don't know how I almost interacted with everyone in my class.

Not Being Consistent and Presenting Skills

I think everybody who is reading this already knows that consistency and practicing your skills is the key to your growth. I explored a lot but lost consistency. Didn't complete C++ till the end of the year, not give much time to CP.

Also lacking presenting skills also affected my growth. I made a management project in C but while presenting it I messed up. And that time you feel like was all the hard work over it was worth it??.

Getting back on track

Further in 2022, I learned DSA and made a simple GUI project using python. And while working on a college project in Machine Learning, I found Data Science as my area of interest which also helped me get back to being consistent. I was also working on a project 'WII Herbarium Plant Classification using ML'.

Conclusion

I called the 2022 average for my growth overall because I have worked pretty well on my skills but still got a lot of room to improve. At the same time, I found out that I suck at my presentation skills and by the end of 2022 I was once again not very social. So, this year I look forward to working on my technical skills and my soft skills also.